How To Become A Paramedic In Delaware

How To Become A Paramedic In Delaware

Levels of EMT

First responder
Emergency Medical Technician-Basic (EMT-B)

National Registry State

Optional

Requirements

  • At least 18 years old
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Valid driver’s license

Length of License

2 years

License Maintenance Requirements

First responder: 12 hour refresher every 2 years
EMT-B: all EMT-B certifications expire March 31st: submit re-certification form filled out to DSFS with copy of 24 hour refresher and HCP CPR card, you must be affiliated with an Ambulance of Fire Company in the state of Delaware

Continuing Education Requirements by Level

Total Hours:
First Responder:12 hours
EMT-B: 24 hours for Delaware, 48 hours required by national registry

Regulating State Agency

Delaware Office of Emergency Medical Services
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dph/ems/ems.html

Scope of Practice

State wide standard treatment protocol approved by the Board of Medical Practice.

Reciprocity

• Must have current NREMT registry
• Must have current state EMT
• Must have Healthcare Provider Certifications
• Must be affiliated with an ambulance, fire or rescue squad in the State of Delaware
• Complete state and federal background check
• Take Reciprocity Class at Delaware State Fire School (successfully complete with protocols quiz, practical skills evaluation, and final exam)

Costs

$5 processing fee for renewals
$50 fee for initial/reciprocity license

Educational Requirements

Successful completion of Delaware Office of Emergency Medical Services first responder, EMT-B course.

Accredited Schools for 2013

  1. Delaware Technical & Community College–Terry Campus – Dover, DE

As of 08/06/2011

Stats

Delaware EMT-Bs (until March 31st, 2012): 1348

Comments are closed.